AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

? Wiring a Thermostat - Furnace Fan Only
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Machinery TalkMessage format

Cross Country
Posted 12/9/2010 21:35 (#1477279)
Subject: ? Wiring a Thermostat - Furnace Fan Only

Ottawa, Ontario
I've installed an outside woodburning stove and I need to wire in a second thermostat to a forced-air furnace so I can contol the fan only.

I have no experience with Thermostats.

The manual says that 'G' controls the fan. So I wired 'G' on the tstat to 'G' on the furnace but haven't had any results.

Do I need a second wire to connect 'C' (common).

Edited by Cross Country 12/9/2010 21:56
Top of the page Bottom of the page
farmechspector
Posted 12/9/2010 22:04 (#1477377 - in reply to #1477279)
Subject: Re: ? Wiring a Thermostat - Furnace Fan Only

ECMN
Whoa-- your trying to hit that dart board from a 100 yards. Need more info!! I'm guessing you'll have to complete a 24 volt circuit some way to energize the fan. I'm assuming the thermostat is outside on your stove and you have 2 wires running out to make the circuit. Now I'm the long range shooter need more info.
Cross Country
Posted 12/9/2010 22:14 (#1477402 - in reply to #1477279)

Ottawa, Ontario

Sorry....here's more info.

The outdoor stove is heating water that is circulating constantly through a loop and is running through a heat exchanger installed into the oil fired furnace in the house.

The existing thermostat in the house controls the oil furnace.

A second thermostat, in the house, is needed to simply run the fan in the furnace when there is a need for heat. (without starting the oil burner)

The existing thermostat will be set to a lower temp and will act as a backup in case the fire in the outside stove goes out.
andserco
Posted 12/9/2010 22:14 (#1477405 - in reply to #1477377)

Hillsboro,Texas