AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

CIH combine shaker system R&R. (with some pictures)
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Machinery TalkMessage format

Old Pokey
Posted 9/25/2009 00:24 (#859451)
Subject: CIH combine shaker system R&R. (with some pictures)

Hi all. Ok, I unfortunately had the opportunity to rebush and rebuild the shaker system on my 1680 long shoe this week. It was supposed to been done last winter, but............shtuff happens.

So, here's my account of the project. I am not a mechanic, I just pretend to act like one when the need arises. The procedures I outline here are my own and most are improvised based on how I feel things should be done. They are not neccissarily the same procedures as the cih factory recomends or any red mechanic would use. So take this as simply some guys methods, not hard fact that it is the way it has to be done please.

I'll start by showing the installation of the multimillion dollar tool cih had OTC tool company build for them.

You remove this bolt on both sides of the machine.

Then you install the tool pieces, there is a right and left.

Next, and this is after you have installed any new parts including the shaft, you have 2 plates with 3 holes each. These too ahve a right and left. The plate with the smaller center hole is left. *they were'nt marked from the factory* Install the plate over the threads on the cross shaft and install the nuts to hold it in place on the tool.

Right hand side.

Then after you have the tool hooked to the chassis with the 3/8" bolt, and the shaft with the plates, it is time to attempt to hitch the tool to the shaker arms. Mine lined up perfectly so I did not pursue adjustment procedures much further.