AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Since land is hot topic today
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Market TalkMessage format

tr70
Posted 11/9/2012 09:47 (#2687524)
Subject: Since land is hot topic today

I'm a younger beginning farmer and please help me understand some things. Obviously everybody would like to own as much of the ground that they farm as possible. As stated in some of the other posts its getting very hard for a young guy without alot of long term assets to buy ground without taking on risk that could easily bankrupt the operation -- I currently dont own a thing as far as land is concerned, but all of my ground is family owned. I will inherit most of it within the next 10-20 years. So last month I had a friend approach me whos in a similar situation -- with the opertunity to buy some 15k ground. We ran some numbers and for me it all comes back to how much will the land appreciate in value over the next 30 years. For instance: if land were to average a 5% return over the next 30 years - figure rent would increase proportionately -- the owner would have as much invested in the farm as the renter -- so a nobrainer -- after like year 15 the buyers land payment would be less than the renters rent payment. However if you have a 2% increase then the renter will have actually saved enough money (in theory) to pay for 1/2 the acre at year 30 and it would take till year 45 until they got close to spending similar money- so the renter even earning 0% at the bank would be ahead for 45 years. I figured this using loan tables and figuring that the principle must be paid for by after tax money where as rent would be pretax dollars -- If you played with the tax percentage number it changed things alot. (so if you had a $100 principle payment it actually costs $120-130 depending on tax rate) Obviously in the last 5-6 years when land has been averaging a 20-100% increase in value annually it works reall